About us - Shipping / Payment - F.A.Q.

You have 0 items in your cart
Subtotal: 0,00€ | Checkout

big jim sullivan: sitar beat €20,36

Format: LP | Genre: Blues, Soul, Funk | Status: Backorder | Label: Music On Vinyl | Ref.: MOVLP1857

This product is not in stock. If you wish us to order it on your behalf from our suppliers, please place it in your reserve list. When it reaches our warehouse, you will be notified by email, so that you can place your order.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Album by one of the most-asked session guitarist of the 60's and 70's
  • Sitar guitar versions of "She's Leaving Home", "Whiter Shade Of Pale", "Suns
  • Superman" and "Within Without You"

Big Jim Sullivan was a well-known session musician in his time and was asked by many bands including The Who, The Rolling Stones, The Animals, Lulu, The Kinks to name just a few.

Going to a music school must have been a novel idea as Big Jim had been playing guitar on sessions since 1957, resulting in his presence on more UK hits than anyone else. He studied with a famous Indian sitar player who gave Jim the necessary insight to be a creditable player. The result was that Jim was being asked to record on even more sessions.

After studying at the music school Big Jim Sullivan traded in his customary guitar for the sitar and created an uncanny fusion of Eastern and Western music on Sitar Beat. This album was originally released in the late 1960s, when the sitar and other Indian instruments enjoyed a certain degree of popularity in the West as 'exotic' flavors.

The album features a mix of odes and originals with songs like "She's Leaving Home", "Whiter Shade Of Pale", "Sunshine Superman" and "Within Without You".

Track Listing:

Side A

  • She's Leaving Home
  • Sunshine Superman
  • A Whiter Shade Of Pale
  • Ltts
  • The Koan
  • Side B

  • Tallyman
  • The Sitar And The Rose
  • Translove Airways (Fat Angel)
  • Within Without You
  • Flower Power
    Add to wishlist Add to reserve list

    <--Back Back Home All rights reserved by allrecords.gr
    Terms and Conditions
    Created by J&L Creations