About us - Shipping / Payment - F.A.Q.

You have 0 items in your cart
Subtotal: 0,00€ | Checkout

johnny cash: bootleg 2: from memphis to hollywood (coloured) €40,00   |    Buy

Format: 3  LP | Genre: Rock / Pop | Status: In stock | Label: Music On Vinyl | Ref.: MOVLP285C

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • 24-page booklet contains unseen photos and new liner notes by Ashley Kahn
  • MOV hype sticker
  • 3 printed innersleeves in slipcase
  • 57 previously unreleased and hard-to-find demos, singles and radio recordings
  • 16 never issued recordings + 11 singles and outtakes released for the first time
  • Limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on transparent vinyl

In 2006 Columbia/Legacy released a number of recordings that had been found amongst Johnny Cash's most private and valuable possessions. They dubbed the album The Personal Files, after what Cash had written on the cardboard boxes that had kept these recordings safe over the years. Now a second volume has been added to this Bootleg Series; From Memphis To Hollywood. For this volume producer Greg Geller focuses on Cash's early Sun years (1954 to 1957) and his Columbia years from 1958 to 1969. This collection puts Cash's music in a historical perspective: Side A is a 15-minute recording of a live radio broadcast for KWEM on May 21, 1955, the same month Cash recorded his Sun hit "Cry, Cry, Cry". The B-side is filled with 12 early pre-Sun demos, 11 of which are previously unreleased. The C-side contains 7 outtakes produced by Sam Phillips and Jack Clement, as well as 2 final demos. The rest of the compilation comprises a fresh collection of non-album singles and B-sides from Cash's first 11 years at Columbia, and concludes with "Come Along And Ride This Train", theme song of The Johnny Cash Show on ABC.

From Memphis To Hollywood is available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on transparent vinyl. This 3LP-set is accompanied by a 24-page booklet with artwork & liner notes by Ashley Kahn.

Track Listing:

    Side A

  • KWEM Announcements And Advertisements
  • Johnny Cash Show Intro And Theme
  • Wide Open Road
  • Home Equipment Company Advertisement
  • One More Ride
  • Home Equipment Company Advertisement / Luther Perkins Intro
  • Luther's Boogie
  • Belshazzar Intro
  • Belshazzar
  • Losing Comments And Theme
  • Overton Park Shell Country Music Jamboree Advertisement By Texas Bill Strength
  • Side B

  • I Walk The Line (Early Demo)
  • Get Rhythm (Early Demo)
  • Train Of Love (Early Demo)
  • Country Boy (Early Demo)
  • My Treasure (Early Demo)
  • Belshazzar (Early Demo)
  • He'll Be A Friend (Early Demo)
  • When I Think Of You (Early Demo)
  • I Just Don't Care Enough (To Carry On) (Early Demo)
  • I'll Cry For You (Early Demo)
  • You're My Baby (Early Demo)
  • Rock and Roll Ruby (Early Demo)
  • Side C

  • Wide Open Road
  • Leave That Junk Alone
  • Brakeman's Blues (Incomplete)
  • Big River
  • I Couldn't Keep From Crying
  • New Mexico
  • Goodnight Irene
  • Restless Kid (Demo)
  • It's All Over (Demo)
  • Side D

  • All Over Again
  • You Dreamer You
  • I'll Remember You
  • Johnny Yuma Theme
  • Five Minutes To Live
  • The Losing Kind
  • Locomotive Man (Single Version)
  • Girl In Saskatoon (Single Version)
  • There's A Mother Always Waiting
  • Side E

  • Johnny Reb
  • The Shifting, Whispering Sands Part II
  • Send A Picture Of Mother
  • Hardin Wouldn't Run (Demo)
  • Thunderball
  • One Too Many Mornings
  • The Frozen Logger
  • Foolish Questions
  • Side F

  • Bottom Of The Mountain
  • Put The Sugar To Bed (Single Version)
  • You Beat All I Ever Saw (Single Version)
  • On The Line
  • Roll Call (Single Version)
  • The Folk Singer
  • Six White Horses (Demo) (2:27)
  • Come Along And Ride This Train (Demo) (3:38)

Add to wishlist

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by allrecords.gr
Terms and Conditions
Created by J&L Creations